The Mayhem Continues!

“Ready?” I hear the voice say in my headset. This is it. This is what I have been training for. My hands were shaking as I reached for the controls. There had been some debate about what would come next we all agreed that the Games needed some action.  We finally settled on poisonous dart frogs. The ones we chose were bright blue to warn off predators. Being new, I had not seen the frogs in person, only in pictures. It terrified me to know that they were only a wall away from me. I have had nightmares about being in the Hunger Games all week long. I knew that I would get more used to it as the years passed but for now I would just have to hide my terrified feelings deep inside of me, keep quiet and do the job I’m here to do.

The head gamemaker’s voice is loud and clear in my head set. “Ready the frogs,” he says “”In five… four… three… two…one…” I inhale and hit the button that releases the frogs with shaking hands. I know from practicing that they will enter from the West and East gate and exit in the trap door in the beach near the water line. The venom in these frogs is enough to kill ten men. We had hoped that the tributes would run away; towards each other to create more action.  As the tributes started to realize what terrors awaited them they began to run. The first two tributes who found the frogs were dead almost immediately. “Fire two cannons” said the head gamemaker. I saw the tributes on the screen running as fast as they could away from the frogs and I knew I shouldn’t but I felt a sliver of regret. I slipped into a foggy daze for the rest of the nightt. On auto-pilot I vaguely remember there being a celebration and four more cannons fired but the whole time I couldn’t help but feel guilty because if it were me in the Games I would hate the gamemakers with all my soul. What have I done?

2 thoughts on “The Mayhem Continues!

  1. I thought you did a great job of showing how you felt through this piece! I loved your word choices, and the way your writing pulled me in. Great job, Megan!

  2. You did a great job in this post. I love your word choices and how you made it so you are new to the games, so you are still scared about the things you do and are still adjusting to being a part of the games, that was very interesting. A problem that I noticed is that you switch tenses sometimes. Like in these sentences: ” Being new, I had not seen the frogs in person, only in pictures. It terrified me to know that they were only a wall away from me. I have had nightmares about being in the Hunger Games all week long. I knew that I would get more used to it as the years passed but for now I would just have to hide my terrified feelings deep inside of me, keep quiet and do the job I’m here to do.” This entire thing seems to be in the past tense, except when you say that you HAVE had nightmares, which is in the present tense. Then later ” I know from practicing that they will enter from the West and East gate and exit in the trap door in the beach near the water line. The venom in these frogs is enough to kill ten men. We had hoped that the tributes would run away; towards each other to create more action. As the tributes started to realize what terrors awaited them they began to run.” the first two sentences are in present tense, then you change to past. You need to watch these things. You also misspelled “nightt” in the second paragraph. Just proofread and this could be great.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *